80 Percent Builder Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Another new 80% noob  (Read 1981 times)

kempoguy

• old retired dude
    • View Profile
Another new 80% noob
« on: March 18, 2016, 06:13:24 PM »

Howdy all, an old, retired, 80% noob here. I've been reading the bits and posts on this forum since last September and decided to try my hand at this in October...talked it over with the wife and she said ok as long as it stays cheap...I bought an Anderson 80% lower ($49.95) in October, with plans of buying a Modulus jig in November. The "boss" asked me to lay off buying stuff until after Christmas...then the trouble began...Modulus was out of stock on jigs, so I said, I'll just buy some parts.  I still stayed cheap...bought a lower parts kit by CMMG for 50 bucks at the end of December...then I bought a DPMS built upper at $89.95...Modulus, still no firm date on delivery...beginning to get sweaty palms here after all the research...I went out and bought an ER Shaw match grade Wylde barrel, $249.95...now the wife is watching...Modulus still has limited availability...That brings us up to today...I bought a Noveske 12" handguard and an Odin works gas block and ss carbine tube, almost 400 bucks. PLEASE, Modulus, get that jig in stock before I order the Fail Zero BCG...I just might get beat silly.l

Jefe

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Another new 80% noob
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2016, 11:38:14 AM »

It looks like your parts choice has gotten progressively more expensive  :) Anderson, CMMG, DPMS, ER Shaw, Noveske

The AR lends itself to gradual assembly which is why it's hard to have spare parts laying around. They eventually turn themselves into full guns.