80 Percent Builder Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: New 1st timer here  (Read 1125 times)

lantanatX

• 80percenter
    • View Profile
New 1st timer here
« on: July 25, 2016, 10:29:20 AM »

Hello,

I am a first time builder here and thought I would share my experiences so far and ask a few questions.  First off my goal was to build a high quality AR without cutting corners while being smart about costs.  The first step was to find an 80% lower.  I settled on Milzap's 7075 forged black anodized lower. Milzap.com I am very impressed with what appears to be incredible quality.  I then purchased a jig on gunbroker that appeared to be the same one that Milzap shows back ordered on.  The jig I received was a piece of junk and not milled properly.  I have sent that back for a refund and then did my homework.  After doing my homework I had to choose between Modulus and 80% easy jig.  I decided on easy jig with their bits.  for a router I went with a nice but used Makita I found on ebay.  I am currently waiting on the jig and router to arrive.

In the meantime I have also been buying parts.  I want great quality were it counts most and keep the rest fairly simple.  I have a Magpul MOE type hand guard and stock and intend to use a 7075 upper from maybe Aeroprecision.  I want to use the A2 iron front sight/gas block with the handle/rear site that is detachable and mounts on a flat top receiver. One question I have is, If I am using a detachable handle/sight on the flat type receiver, do I need an "F" marked front sight?

7.62X39

• Tech Rep Modulus Arms
    • View Profile
Re: New 1st timer here
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2016, 11:33:30 AM »

After doing my homework I had to choose between Modulus and 80% easy jig.  I decided on easy jig with their bits. 

One question I have is, If I am using a detachable handle/sight on the flat type receiver, do I need an "F" marked front sight?