80 Percent Builder Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Possible Issue with first lower I milled  (Read 1224 times)

badgenes

• 80percenter
    • View Profile
Possible Issue with first lower I milled
« on: August 29, 2016, 10:39:26 AM »

I'm new to all of this and would appreciate any input prior to live testing.  This is the only AR-15 I have access to so I don't have any frame of reference beyond the Internet.  I milled and drilled my first at lower and during assembly found that I could not quite insert safety selector with the hammer cocked.  The amount of rear trigger assembly intruding in the selector hole was small but enough to cause the selector to stop.  Selector inserts fine with trigger group removed, albeit snugly.  Just on a lark, I decided to improvise and insert the selector first, angle it to 1 o'clock position and slide the trigger group in under it.  I completed assembly and test trigger function, all seems to work as described in various assembly and testing guides.  The safety functions correctly as well, albeit feeling very snug.  The only thing of note is that the trigger is tight, doesn't travel very far to release the hammer.  I've tested this repeatedly with a block, then with the rifle fully assembled.  My only concern is that something go wrong during live fire. 

My pocket is ~ 1.22 inches deep, all else is spec.  I'm using an old set of calipers though, so I could be 1.21 or 1.24 depending upon their accuracy (and my ability to read them with my over 40 eyes). 

I appreciate any thoughts or advice you may have.

Jefe

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Possible Issue with first lower I milled
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2016, 01:50:35 PM »

That sounds pretty standard. You can put the trigger in first or the safety in first. Sometimes I can do one but not the other and that's with various lowers and triggers, not just 80% lowers.