80 Percent Builder Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Best/Easiest 80% Jig  (Read 793 times)

Fobb

• 80percenter
    • View Profile
Best/Easiest 80% Jig
« on: February 03, 2017, 10:18:44 AM »

I am new to building a 80% ar15 lower and I do have a question.  Which jig is the easiest/idiot proof on the market.  I have watched numerous youtube demonstrations on finishing a lower but not sure which one to purchase. Any information would be helpful.  I am not the most mechanically inclined.

Thank You

Jefe

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Best/Easiest 80% Jig
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 10:31:10 AM »

I am new to building a 80% ar15 lower and I do have a question.  Which jig is the easiest/idiot proof on the market.  I have watched numerous youtube demonstrations on finishing a lower but not sure which one to purchase. Any information would be helpful.  I am not the most mechanically inclined.

Thank You

I wouldn't say any of them are idiot-proof and I don't find one to be substantially easier to use than the other. They each have their pluses and minuses. As far as ease of use you really just have to learn the jig system you choose. If you understand how the jig works it will help you know when you are doing something wrong. All of the jigs require you to assemble and disassemble various pieces and this is one of the areas you can make mistakes if you are careless or don't realize why the parts go together the way they do. So on that criteria alone I don't think one stands out as appreciably better than the others. But there are many other things that can be considered such as cost, compatibility/universality, tooling and tools required, expandability, etc. It all depends on what is important to you.

Welcome to the forum!

helidude350

• 80percenter
    • View Profile
Re: Best/Easiest 80% Jig
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2017, 03:24:10 AM »

Howdy FOBB,